Another preview

Just showing some more of the layout work I’m doing for Gonzo – this one is page five. You’ll probably notice by now that I’m being a bit luxurious with the layout – so far we’ve got 2 splash pages and a DPS (double page spread). I figure I can get away with this because pages 2 and 3 contain a lot of information, and page 5 has panels floating over the top to break down the information the reader is presented with. Whether or not it works remains to be seen, but from here on in, I’ll be reverted to a fairly traditional use of layout and structure.

This preview shows all the perspective and underlay drawing I’m doing for page 5. I’m being particularly fussy with the perspective as 1. it’s way easier using Photoshop and a Cintiq, and 2. it is really necessary for my style. I’ve tried the freehand approach, but it doesn’t work when the line work is as tight and detailed as I like it. It takes away from the better-rendered characters, and leaves me open to all kinds of weird stuff happening with the angles. So while it’s still a bit laborious, the time gained by going digital for this part more than makes up for it.

I’m trying to use planes better, following some advice from Frank Quitely. He pointed out that I focus a lot on mid-range shots, and that they can be broken up and made more interesting by showing an object close up at the end of the frame to give us some depth. I don’t want to end up doing that all the time though, so I’m going to have to seriously consider how I lay things out to still get across the important part – the storytelling – but make it interesting for the reader.

Anyway, that’s yet to come, here’s the preview:

Gonzo Cosmic Page 5 Preview

Leave a Reply

